Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,
Our first round of post lockdown Eclectic competition was well attended with 33 players turning up to set the groundwork of their campaign for the Big Dog. Groups were heading out to the tee boxes at our official start time of 12:00. Pace, while not the fastest we've seen, moved steadily around the course for most groups. Everyone was able to finish their rounds and make their way to the clubhouse to see how they did in the daily competition before dark.
Welcome to first timers Honey Maung and Sunil Sakrani and welcome back to Bruno Vanhoucke who played with the D.O.G.S. in the early years and is now back.
Unfortunately we have to so long to Steve Sutton and Rosie Tjaden; Steve is going back to Australia and Rosie is off to Bangkok for a long overdue reunion with her husband, and fellow Dog, Arne. Best of luck and we hope to see you again at future D.O.G.S. rounds.
Colin Sifton had a bit of trouble controlling his game managing a Nearest to the Pin with a nice shot on 9 but at the end of the day he only collected enough points for the Booby Prize. Malcolm Collis didn't have much trouble with consistency taking the other Nearest to the Pin and winning Weekly Champion with his 41 Stableford points.
Check out full results on our Leaderboard.
Congratulations also to Gaurav Shirke who was able to collect his Little Dog from PJ.
If you won a prize Saturday but did not receive your prize come see us at next week's round to collect.
Game fees are collected before the round; if you missed paying your game fee, no problem, just pass it to us at the next round you attend.
The D.O.G.S. strive to be a group that plays fast; please pay attention to the groups around you and keep up with the group ahead of you. If for some reason you are falling behind and can't catch up consider letting the group behind through so they can continue on and you can play at a pace that is good for your group. For groups stuck behind a slow group we understand that this is frustrating and groups may decide to jump a few holes ahead. Shoehorning yourself in where there are no gaps just makes things worse so this should only be considered if you know there is space. Should you decide to jump ahead, make sure there is a gap and you have permission from any group you jump in front of. Best way to handle is to call the martial to assist.
A reminder that the President's Challenge is still going on. We have moved the dates a bit to accomodate for the time lost due to lockdown. Get your matches scheduled and let us know the results.
The course is in good condition and the greens are rolling fast so get in on the action. Grab a friend and sign up to play our next round.
Where: Permata Sentul Golf Club
When: Saturday, October 9, 2021
Tee Off: 12:00
Green Fee + Golf Cart: 850.000 IDR/person
If you would like to play in a particular group please let us know, otherwise we will arrange groups.
See you at the course,
The Rules and what it means when we play.
Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.
If a ball is unplayable, the player has 3 different options. Correct?
The player can replay his shot from the place the ball, which was lost, was played before. The player must add one penalty stroke, e.g. if it was his first shot, so now the player plays the third shot.
The player can take relief within 2 club length from the position of the unplayable ball, not closer to the hole.
It can be anywhere (fairway, rough, bunker etc.) on the golf course (2 club lengths away from the unplayable ball) and one penalty stroke has to be added.
The ball can be dropped one club length away from a line, which is drawn from the hole over the unplayable ball and then backwards as far as the player wishes, but not closer to the hole. One penalty stroke has to be added.
For option 2 and 3 the ball must be found
Is it possible for a player to decline a concession from their opponent?
No, it is not possible. A concession is binding for both.
Is the backward movement of the club considered part of a stroke?
No, only the forward movement is regarded part of the stroke.
Sand in the bunker touched
Is it allowed to hit the sand in the bunker, while you move back with your club
in order to make the stroke?
If you hit the sand, while you move your club backwards in order to make a
stroke you get the general penalty. (General penalty is 2 added strokes or loss