D.O.G.S. Fifth Game at Rainbow Hills Golf Club

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,


10 players turned up for our final round of the year at Rainbow Hills and were greeted with fine weather for the fifth week in a row.


Continuing to mix things up a bit, the Forest and Stone Hills courses were played this week. Play was underway on time and was smooth running with everyone back in the clubhouse in good time and in daylight.


Good to see Hitoshi Maruyama and Velma Yolanda back along with Dave Prosser.


Diarmuid Flannagan had a tough day winning both the Booby Prize and Most Exercise; it can only get better!


Dave and Hitoshi dominated the skills prizes except the Nearest the Pins which went to Timo Karonen and Rod Williams.


Timo took the Runner Up and Rod won his first Little Dog in many years with 43 points! Thank you to last week's Champion Timo for helping present to Rod.

Check out full results on our Leaderboard.


Thus ends our COVID affected season after 5 great rounds at Rainbow Hills.


Next week the battle for the Big Dog is back as we start a full Eclectic at our next venue. Grab a friend and sign up to play early.

  • Where: Permata Sentul Golf Club

  • When: Saturday, October 25, 2021

  • Tee Off: 12:00

  • Green Fee + Golf Cart: 850.000 IDR/person

If you would like to play in a particular group please let us know, otherwise we will arrange groups.


To register:

See you at the course,


jb

 

Rules

The Rules and what it means when we play.


Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.


How well do you know the rules? Here is a quick quiz to evaluate yourself.


Question 1: A player finds their ball lying in an isolated animal footprint. They are entitled to free relief.

A - False B - True


Question 2: The teeing area is a rectangle that is three club-lengths deep.

A - False B - True


Question 3: In match play, if a player plays a ball from outside the teeing area when starting a hole, the penalty is loss of hole.

A - False B - True


Question 4: When a player's ball that was covered by sand has accidentally been moved in trying to find it, there is no penalty, but the ball must be replaced to original position. When the original lie is recreated, the player may leave a small part of the ball visible.

A - False B - True


Question 5: A player finds their ball by stepping on it in thick rough after searching for it for 2 minutes, causing it to move. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets a penalty of one stroke and must place the ball on the estimated spot. If the ball was under the growing grass it must be replaced under that grass.

B - There is no penalty and the player must place the ball on the estimated spot. If the ball was under the growing grass it must be replaced under that grass.

C - There is no penalty and the player must drop the ball as near as possible to the estimated spot.


Question 6: Before playing his ball from long grass, a player moves some loose impediments from around his ball. In doing so he causes his ball to move. What is the ruling?

A - The player gets one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced.

B - The player gets two penalty strokes and the ball must be replaced.

C - There is no penalty but the ball must be replaced.



Question 7: The nearest point of complete relief may be nearer the hole than the ball's original spot.


A - False B - True



Question 8: A player is entitled to free relief when his ball is embedded in the rough.


A - False B - True


Question 9: A player addresses his ball on the fairway, but before playing his shot, changes his mind on his club selection. He returns to his bag, and when changing his club, a gust of wind causes his ball to roll down a slope several feet from its original position. What is the ruling?

A - There is no penalty and the ball must be played from its new position.

B - There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

C - The player gets a penalty of one stroke and must replace the ball.

Question 10: In stroke play, before playing their ball in a bunker, a player removes a water bottle lying near her ball. The ball does not move. What is the ruling?