D.O.G.S. Third Round at Permata Sentul Golf Club

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,


A big turnout for our 3rd round with 47 players submitting scores. A shotgun start enabled players to go off at the same time and arrive in the clubhouse together at the end. The skies threatened rain all day but it never came.


Jari Rahtu made his triumphant return to Indonesia and cleared quarantine in time to join us. Juha Christensen, Patrick Chaundy and Robson Drumond were also back after long stretches away from the D.O.G.S. Glad to have you all joining us again!


Three time Champion Jari Rahtu was eager to play his first D.O.G.S. round in over a year and a half but found he was a bit rusty and ended up winning the Booby Prize.

Gaurav Shirke had a great round shooting 76 to take the Lowest Gross prize which went well with his Nearest to the Pin.


Jeremy Oberoi shot a personal best 78 with a hot putter that helped him co-win Putting Champion. More importantly, he collected 45 Stableford points to become our Weekly Champion.


Congratulations to all our winners!


Check out full results on our Leaderboard.


We are now passed the halfway point and opportunities to play this course are getting fewer. Don't miss your chance to play this great venue. Grab a friend and sign up to play our next round.

  • Where: Permata Sentul Golf Club

  • When: Saturday, October 23, 2021

  • Tee Off: 12:00

  • Green Fee + Golf Cart: 850.000 IDR/person

To register:

 

The 3rd round of the President's Challenge ends October 30th and we still have players who haven't completed their 2nd round matches. Check out the bracket and see who you are up against. Player on lower rung is the challenger and should initiate the request.

 

See you at the course,


jb

 

The Rules and what it means when we play.




Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.









GUR

In a match, a player’s ball lodges in a bush. As the player is weighing up their options, they notice that the bush itself is growing within ground under repair (GUR), but the ball is on a branch that overhangs the course and is outside of the line marking the GUR. They takes free relief using the spot on the ground directly underneath where the ball lies in the bush to measure out the relief area. They then drop the ball in the correct way and make a stroke from its new position. What is the correct ruling?

  1. The player loses the hole for playing from the wrong place.

  2. The stroke does not count.

  3. There is no penalty

The correct answer is 3.


Explanation: If the bush is rooted in GUR, then any branch overhanging the course is part of that GUR.


Matchplay

Is a player to be penalised if his caddie gives wrong information as to the number of strokes the player has taken and the error is not corrected before the opponent makes their next stroke?


Yes and the penalty is the loss of the hole.


Lost Ball, not Lost Ball, which Ball to play?

After playing a provisional ball, a player searches for their original ball f