top of page

D.O.G.S. Fourth Round at Jagorawi Golf & Country Club

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!

So, now we're into the fourth round of this challenging series with 31 players making the trip down to Jagorawi. Good, albeit hot, conditions were waiting for us but things seemed to cool down somewhat during the round. The usual shotgun start got is all off on time and play was smooth with everyone finishing in good time.


The usual few newcomers with Songpol Sak and Kitti Au joining us as well as some faces we haven't seen for a while, Juha Christensen and Shyam Datye - hope to see you all again and a big welcome to the newcomers.


The fourth week is commonly the big moving week on the Eclectic so it was going to be interesting to see how things progressed. So to the play:


Paul Barnett and Minn Tun held the greens with their tee shots to take the Nearest to the Pin prizes, as did newcomer Kitti Au and Sarah Brown with their approach shots to take the Drive & Pitch prizes.


The Browns did it again and took the Longest Drive prizes for the second week running - come on John and Sarah, give others a chance please!


Richard Mau had good day with the flat stick helping him to the Lowest Gross of the day as well as the Putting Champion prize this week.


Very much out of character, Steve Sutton did not have a good day taking home his first Booby Prize. However, normal service was resumed with Christian Berkenhoff adding to his already extensive collection of Most Exercise Trophies....well done mate!


It took a count back to separate the top two with John Brown having to settle for the Runner Up prize leaving the way clear for Minn Tun to win his first Little Dog to become this week's Champion.


We must also congratulate Arne Tjaden for his Eagle 3 on the Par 5 first hole of the New Course.....well done!


A big congratulations to all our winners this week.


So, with four rounds complete Richard Mau has managed to hold on to his lead at the top of the Eclectic but the gap is narrowing. Sarah Brown has jumped into second place and there's only 1.1 separating the top five...still with plenty of room for improvement. Two rounds to go and it's still up for grabs. You can see the full Eclectic results on the Leaderboard page or in the myGolf2u app.


We now move into our penultimate round so, as we say, grab a friend or two and sign up for next week and don't forget to let Rod know your preferred playing partners. Please also make sure you have confirmed that your preferred playing partners are their preferred playing partners!


Also note that signing up early helps a lot in getting things ready with the club - thanks.

  • Where: Jagorawi Golf & Country Club

  • When: Saturday, October 28, 2023

  • Tee Off: 12:00

  • Green Fee: 1.095.000 IDR. Includes cart and caddie fee

To register:

See you all on the course.

Rod & jb

 

The Rules and what it means when we play.


Jens Roestel

R&A First Grade Umpire.



In stroke play, player A looks into player B's bag without touching or moving anything to see which club B used for their last stroke.


What is the ruling?


A - Player A gets two penalty strokes.

B - Player A is disqualified.

C - There is no penalty.


Correct answer: C


Explanation: Information obtained by observation is not advice.


In a match, player B has completed the hole in 5 strokes. Player A, who has a putt for a 5, asks B what their score was for the hole. B mistakenly states that they holed out in 4 .strokes. Player A picks up their ball without marking its position. Player B then corrects their mistake.


What is the ruling?


A - Player A gets one penalty stroke for lifting their ball at rest without marking

and not correcting it before the ball was lifted.

B - Player B loses the hole for telling the opponent the wrong number of strokes

and not correcting it before the ball was lifted.

C - Player A must replace the ball and there is no penalty to either player as the

ball was lifted due to a misunderstanding.


Correct answer: B


Explanation: As player B gave the wrong number of strokes and did not correct the mistake before player A picked up their ball, player B loses the hole.


A player searches for their ball and thinks it may have been lifted by a spectator but isn't sure. After a three-minute search, and while the player walks back to the tee, a spectator admits that he had picked up the ball.


What is the ruling?


A - The player must place the ball back on the estimated original spot with no penalty.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke and must replace the ball on the

estimated original spot.

C - The player must take relief under stroke and distance for a lost ball.


Correct answer: C


Explanation: The evidence must be known to the player at the time that the 3-minute search time expires.

 

Announcements


St. Andrew's Ball

Tickets are on sale for the 2023 St. Andrew's Ball. This is a fun night which always sells out. Get your tickets early. Details and registration link can be found here.


Shirts

If you would like to purchase a D.O.G.S. shirt please get in touch with John Brown or send an email to jakartadogs@gmail.com


WhatsApp Groups

We have 2 WhatsApp groups for members; our Chatter group which is used for sharing jokes and non-D.O.G.S. related information and our Updates group where we share information specific to D.O.G.S. rounds. If you would like to be added to either or both of these groups please send us an email with your cell phone number to jakartadogs@gmail.com

97 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page