D.O.G.S. Final Round at Matoa Nasional Golf Course

Updated: Jan 6, 2019

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,

36 golfers turned up for our final round of the 2018 Matoa Tournament (and last formal round of the year). The starter was ready for us and groups began going out at 10:30. Despite the busy course the D.O.G.S. started off at a fast pace and were able to move swiftly about the course. A slightly overcast sky gave us very comfortable playing conditions. Players were hoping to take advantage of the favourable conditions to move up the board to overtake Pieter Nielen-Groen and Jochen Overberg who started out in the lead.

This round saw us saying so long to one of our members but also brought in a fresh face. Newcomer Chris Bickerstaff won the Booby Prize on his first D.O.G.S. round. Welcome Chris, looking forward to seeing more of you in 2019. Detlef Blümke managed to take home one more Most Exercise prize before heading off to his new adventures in India. Good luck Detlef, we hope you will find a way to come back and visit from time to time.

Gary Mond had a good day on the course netting 40 stableford points, which on most weeks would see him taking home a Little Dog but had to settle for Runner Up. Arne Tjaden shot a 76 with 42 points to take home Lowest Gross and Weekly Champion. Well done gentlemen.

With 6 weeks completed at Matoa the Big Dog was in the house and to add to the excitement we were having our end of year party where new Champions from the past 3 years were to receive their jackets. Between handing out D.O.G.S. trophies we also handed out prizes donated by our sponsors. A big thank you to The RIO Club, Schenck Process, Rà Simatupang, Robert Walters, Alya Esthetic, AW Kitchen, and Matoa for the great prizes! Thank you to Rosie Tjaden and Riahana Ariestya Yusuf for helping with the draw.

Returning back to the Big Dog competition; our leaders at the start, Pieter and Jochen, were unable to keep their foot on the gas this week and unfortunately had to watch the trophy ceremonies. Douglas McQuater was our 2nd Runner Up, Arne Tjaden 1st Runner Up (also Lowest Gross Champion) and Jens Roestel is our 2018 Matoa Eclectic Champion!

Full results.

Lastly please congratulate Craig Edwards, Pieter Nielen-Groen, Jari Rahtu, Laurie O'Connor and Keith Gorman who all received their Blue Jackets. You all look great in them!