top of page

D.O.G.S. Second Round at Pondok Cabe Golf Club

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!

Well, what a great day with a big turnout of 59 players for our 2nd round at Pondok Cabe. A shotgun got us off reasonably on time and, although not the fastest round in history, everyone was finished in reasonably good time. The weather threatened for a while but not enough to hold up play. The course played its usual with the greens not quite as fast as last week - a bit of green maintenance saw to that which likely means they'll be super fast by next week!


Several newcomers this week including Ishaan Pande, Dini Maryono, Lukas Musial, Dennis Kuehne, Jayson Lee, Rani Dwi, Sina and Ute Friese, Peter Hogewoning, Bryn Griffiths and Minn Tun. Great to welcome all of you and look forward to seeing you all as regulars to the DOGS.


So to the play: a good mixture of winners this week with Anirudh Katre and newcomer Rani Dwi taking the Nearest to the Pin prizes, Douglas Ure and Agnes Berkenhoff getting their drivers working taking the Longest Drive prizes and Akhil Aggarwal the Drive & Pitch on Hole 5 - nobody has yet taken the Drive & Pitch on Hole 13 as of now - hopefully next week!


Douglas McQuater had his putter working better than his approach shots becoming this week's Putting Champion. Siti Fatimah clearly enjoyed the scenery and the walk taking both the Booby and Most Exercise Trophies.


Richard Mau's return was met with him taking the Lowest Gross this week and Patrick Chaundy's return saw him winning this week's Runner Up prize. So, Andrew Goode showed that he can put it all together taking home the Little Dog becoming this week's Champion - well done Andrew - he seems to play better when not with wifey (I'll get into trouble for saying that.....ahh what the hell!).




A big congratulations to all our winners!


So, with 2 weeks under our belts there's a lot of movement at the top of the Eclectic leaderboard - as you would expect - so it's still wide open. Please check out the full standings on our Leaderboard page or in the mygolf2u app.




For those of you who hadn't heard our good friend Toshi San had an accident at new year falling down some stairs - he claims he was sober! - which resulted in a broken ankle and cracked ribs. He and Velma decided to make an appearance to join in the post golf festivities - see the photo above. This resulted in his medical team escorting him back to his place afterwards to discuss his continuing recovery over the usual large quantity of Japanese Whisky - thanks Toshi San - long may you continue to recover!







We now move to the third week of this Eclectic Series; so, as we say, grab a friend and sign up now for next week and don't forget to let Rod know your preferred playing partners.

  • Where: Pondok Cabe Golf Club

  • When: Saturday, January 21, 2023

  • Tee Off: 12:00

  • Green Fee: 750.000 IDR. Includes cart and caddie fee

To register:

See you on the course, Rod & jb

 

The Rules and what it means when we play.


Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.


An article was circulated on the internet in December 2022 regarding the Golf Handicap Association (GHA) implementing rules changes such as more clubs and generous relief. There is some discussion as to whether or not the article was satire. Regardless, these rules are not from the USGA, which is the rules the D.O.G.S. play to, so they are not relevant to us.


A player is penalised if their caddie gives wrong information on the number of strokes the player has taken during play of a hole and the error is not corrected before the opponent makes their next stroke or takes a similar action.


A - True

B - False


Correct answer A


Explanation: A Player is responsible for their caddie’s actions. To avoid penalty the player or caddie must give the right number of strokes taken before the opponent makes another stroke or takes a similar action.


In a singles match, player A concedes player B's short putt for a 4. Player B then attempts to hole out and misses the putt.


Player A claims the hole. What is the ruling?


A - The concession stands and player B has completed the hole in 4 strokes.

B - Player B loses the hole.

C - Player A can withdraw the concession and B is considered to have holed out in 5.


Correct answer A


Explanation: A player has completed the hole in match play when their next stroke is conceded.


As a player is about to replace their ball on the green, they accidentally drop the ball on their ball marker which causes the marker to move.


What is the ruling?


A - There is no penalty and the ball or ball marker must be replaced on its original spot.

B - The player gets two penalty strokes and the ball or ball marker must be replaced on its original spot.

C - The player gets one penalty stroke and the ball or ball marker must be replaced on its original spot.


Correct answer A


Explanation: There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green.


A player hits their shot out of bounds from the fairway. When dropping the ball under stroke and distance, they must drop the ball as near as possible to the spot from where the last stroke was made, no nearer the hole.


A - True

B - False


Correct answer B


Explanation: When dropping a ball under stroke and distance in the general area, a ball must be dropped within one club-length of the point from which the previous stroke was made and in the same area of the course as that point.

 

Announcements


WhatsApp Groups

We have 2 WhatsApp groups for members; our Chatter group which is used for sharing jokes and non-D.O.G.S. related information and our Updates group where we share information specific to D.O.G.S. rounds. If you would like to be added to either or both of these groups please send us an email with your cell phone number to jakartadogs@gmail.com


114 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page