top of page

D.O.G.S. Second Round at Sedayu Indo Golf

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!

So we come to our second week at Sedayu and another beautiful day but, and there's always a 'but', the wind was stronger and the greens were faster which made for a more challenging round - all good fun though!


A total of 44 players came out to play. Good to see Joseph Peries back after many years and Carol Lindsay, Ed Long and Stephen Dinggai whom we haven't seen for a little while either. Always good to see old faces back - welcome all!!!

The starter got us off on time again with a semi shotgun and pace of play was quick so everyone was back in the club house in good time. We couldn't use the terrace restaurant afterwards due to a wedding but this week we will be back on it, enjoying the sunset and great views.


So to the play: a good mixture of ladies and gents this week with Hitoshi Maruyama and John Brown showing us their tee off accuracy taking the Nearest to the Pin prizes and Velma Yolanda and Axel Hertzke showing us their accuracy on the approach shots taking the Drive & Pitch honours. Reysia Moore got her driver working well taking one of the Longest Drive Prizes whilst Richard Mau took the other and the Putting Champion and Lowest Gross Prizes - he's always there somewhere - very consistent.


Siti Fatimah had a long day but couldn't quite repeat here Longest Drive from last week taking both the Booby and Most Exercise honours this week - no worries Siti, at least it was a beautiful day.


We had a couple of eagles this week - both on the 17th hole - with Velma Yolanda and Ezra Alexander holing out their third shots on the par 5 - congrats guys!

So this brings us to this week's Champion and the winner of the Little Dog - Stephen Dinggai winning his first little Dog - note: his attempt to make a speech after the presentation was met with the expected jeering from the assembled masses! - even then he tried to carry on - something to do with the beverages or maybe libations to the DOG deity or something!


There are some good photos of the course in the great selection below - keep them coming guys!


Weekly Champion Stephen Dinggai

Congratulations as always to all our winners!



We had one matchplay as part of the President's Challenge where:


Hitoshi defeated Jude Alexander 2 & 1.


So with two rounds complete Sarah Brown is starting to pull away in the lead but there's a long way to go so check out the full results through our Leaderboard page or in the mygolf2u app as usual.


Now we move on to the third week of the series. We will have a semi shotgun again at 12:30pm latest so please ensure you are there in good time so we can all start on time - thanks in advance.

As we always say; grab a friend, please sign up early and let Rod know your preferred playing partners.

  • Where: Sedayu Indo Golf

  • When: Saturday, October 1, 2022

  • Tee Off: 12:00

  • Green Fee: 1.300.000 IDR. Includes cart and caddie fee

To register:

See you on the course, Rod & jb

 

The Rules and what it means when we play.


Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.

In match play, a player's correct handicap is 11, but he mistakenly advises his opponent on the first tee that his handicap is 10. After his opponent hits her first tee shot, he

realises his mistake. What is the ruling?


A - The player must play the match using a handicap of 10.

B - The player must play the match using a handicap of 11.

C - The player is disqualified.


Correct answer: A


Explanation: If a player declares a wrong handicap and does not correct the mistake before the opponent makes a stroke, if the declared handicap is too low, there is no penalty and the player must play off the lower handicap.


In match play, a player's ball lies in a penalty area and she takes a practice swing in the penalty area, grounding her club in the process. What is the ruling?


A - There is no penalty.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - The player loses the hole.


Correct answer: A


Explanation: A player may ground his or her club anywhere in a penalty area without penalty.


In match play, a player's ball lies in a bunker and she takes a practice swing in the bunker, grounding her club in the process. What is the ruling?


A - There is no penalty.

B - The player gets one penalty stroke.

C - The player loses the hole.


Correct answer: C


Explanation: A player may not ground his or her club anywhere in a bunker during a trial swing or addressing the ball, even not during the backswing to hit the ball.

Announcements


Upcoming Golf Tournaments

This Friday ISCO will be playing their monthly round for charity at Modern Golf & Country Club.


Registration for the 2022 Jakarta Hotels Association on October 20th at Imperial Klub Golf is now open.


For more details visit our Upcoming Golf Tournaments page.

WhatsApp Group We have 2 WhatsApp groups for members; our Chatter group which is used for sharing jokes and non-D.O.G.S. related information and our Updates group where we share information specific to D.O.G.S. rounds. If you would like to be added to either or both of these groups please send us an email with your cell phone number to jakartadogs@gmail.com

114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page