Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,
30 players turned up for our 3rd round at Matoa, not bad considering all the tournaments going on Friday and Saturday. A big thank you to the Tee Set committee who turned up for the round following their big Championship and after party. By the looks on a few faces it must have been a good day.
The starter ushered the D.O.G.S. out to the tee boxes and had us starting off 1 and 10 right on time. Methodical would be the best way to describe the pace as the players steadily moved around the course. This week the rains stayed away and were replaced by constant wind which kept changing directions and making for interesting playing conditions. Everyone was settled in the clubhouse enjoying refreshments long before dark.
Ralf Duckworth made an appearance to check on the D.O.G.S and scooped up both Booby Prize and Most Exercise. Former Tee Set President and now known as just Roger Finnie was our Weekly Champion for the second week in a row.
Congratulations to all of our winners! As always full results are posted on our Leaderboard.
Next week we are back to our normal play day and we will be having pot luck pairings. This is always fun and a good way to play with new players for many. Get up off the couch grab a friend and come on out and join us.
Where: Matoa Nasional Golf Course
When: Saturday, December 5, 2020
Tee Off: 11:32
Green Fee + Golf Cart: 650.000 IDR/person
As we need time to arrange groups and be prepared for the possibility of an early start we request players are at the course 1 hour early.
If you would like to join us for a round there are several ways to register:
If you are going to be late or decide not to play let us know so appropriate arrangements can be made.
See you at the course,
This week's rules discussion comes courtesy of fellow Dog and R&A First Grade Umpire Jens Roestel.
New Rules and what it means when we play.
Today Caddie and Partner Standing behind a Player:
A partner standing behind the player would also be in violation of the rule regarding the Partner/Caddie standing behind a player from the moment she/he takes her/his stand until the stroke was done. Rule 10.2b (4) does not allow a player or his playing partner (not competitor) to have his or her caddie deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason when the player begins taking a stance for the stroke. Reference to “the stroke” means the stroke that is actually made. This applies for a putt as well as for any other stroke.
The player begins to take the stance for the stroke that is actually made when he or she has at least one foot in position for that stance.
If a player backs away from the stance, he or she has not taken a stance for the stroke that is actually made, and the second bullet point in Rule 10.2b (4) does not apply (Bullet point 2 reads – If the player takes a stance in breach of this Rule, he or she cannot avoid penalty by backing away).
Therefore, if a player takes a stance when the caddie is deliberately standing on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball, there is no penalty under Rule 10.2b(4) if the player backs away from the stance and does not begin to take a stance for the stroke that is actually made until after the caddie has moved out of that location. This applies anywhere on the course.
Backing away means that the player’s feet or body are no longer in a position where helpful guidance on aiming at the intended target line could be given.
Last year on the Web.com (now called the Korn Ferry Tour), a player earned a two-stroke penalty for breaching this rule. The player got penalized two strokes even though his caddie was already walking away before the player started his stroke. The penalty may seem harsh to some but the rule clearly states that it was not allowed. The player dropped out of the top 10 with his two penalty strokes.
Please keep in mind one important fact about this rule. This rule is not about where the caddie or partner is at the time the stroke is made but where the caddie or partner is when the player started taking their stance. That’s it.
This is a major change from the previous rules of golf. This rule will be applied on the location the caddie and/or partners was standing at the time the player started taking their stance, if the player then goes ahead with the stroke.
It is confirmed that in forms of play involving partners, a player’s partner and the partner’s caddie count under the same rules as the players caddie.
Jeff Ellison says it best – “You have all the rights and privileges of a partner…and all the responsibilities!”
As you gear up for team competitions or individual competitions, keep in mind to make sure your partner(s) and caddie(s) know where to stand when you start taking your stance.
It’s easy to avoid penalty strokes by just having your caddie and/or partners stay off your extension of the line of play when it is your turn to play. My advice: have them stand off to the side (90 degree angle), well off your line of play!
Covid-19 Player Safety
Playing is the sole decision of each player. There is adequate information available publicly on Covid-19 to allow each person to form their own judgement on playing and what steps should be taken to protect oneself and playing partners.
Thank you from grateful recipient of blood
You will remember a few weeks ago an urgent call for blood donors was sent out to our WhatsApp group. This was sent out to Tee Set and JAWS also; being the first society contacted a response was sent to Tee Set President Roger Finnie who has passed this note on to us.