top of page

D.O.G.S. Second Round at Riverside Golf Club

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,

Another good turnout with 43 players for our 2nd round at Riverside. A mini shotgun start off holes 10 to 14, on time, saw the beginning of an eventful afternoon. With only a fairly brief delay during the play due to weather, everyone managed to finish in good time, reasonably unscathed.

Good to see Stefan Skibinski and good to see Murthy, Rajeev and Shiva back after quite a while. Welcome to Meher Noronha, Willy’s daughter, who could well turn out to be a force to be reckoned with in the future.

A sad and embarrassed looking Dave Prosser arrived having found that his driver had forgotten to put his clubs in the car; there’s a moral there somewhere Mr. Prosser! However, he quickly negotiated some rental clubs to use and start on time while waiting for his clubs to be delivered. Maybe a penalty will be imposed next time!!!

The usual mix of good, fair to middling rounds ensued, but the day was dominated by Holger Molendyk’s hole-in-one on the 11th, the first in his life, which cost him dearly once back in the club house. Although I’m not sure if he realized just how many drinks to celebrate he was actually buying. No worries mate. Great achievement and here’s to the next one!

Other honours went to Diarmuid Flanagan for Nearest the Pin on hole 4, with the longest drives taken by Shawn Berg and Indar Dhaliwal. The Drive & Pitch prizes went to Shawn Berg and Shiva Pandey. Jude Alexander had his putter working well taking the Putting Champion prize. Michael Mueller had a tough day taking both the Booby and Most Exercise honours, no worries Michael, it can only get better. Shawn Berg took a third prize by winning the Lowest Gross with an 83 off the stick. Our newcomer Meher Noronha made sure the ladies didn’t go home empty handed by winning the runner-up prize with Mike Webb improving his standing in the eclectic and taking the Weekly Champion and Little Dog home with 42 points. Congratulations to all of this week's winners!

Full eclectic results can be found on our Leaderboard.

We also launched our charity collection for this series. The charity we are supporting this time is the Yayasan Al Hijrah, an orphanage in Bogor that adopts abandoned children from throughout Indonesia and educates them . Thanks to all who contributed! The bucket will stay open until the final round and can be found at our registration table.

Next week we will play on Sunday, the 28th November due to make room for our friends at Tee Set to host their Championship the Saturday. Please sign up early and let Rod know who you would like in your group as early as you can during the week and also make sure the other players are aware!

So, come and join the fun; sign up for the next round. We are likely to have a mini shotgun again so please be there in good time so we can all tee off together.

  • Where: Riverside Golf Club

  • When: Sunday, November 28, 2021

  • Tee Off: 12:30

  • Green Fee + Golf Cart: 900.000 IDR/person

To register:


The D.O.G.S. are very excited to announce our newest sponsor, and Signature Sponsor for our 2021 End of Year Party and 2022 season, Connect Energy. Thank you very much to Willy Noronha for your support!

See you at the course,

Rod & jb


The Rules and what it means when we play.

Courtesy of fellow Dog, Jens Roestel, R&A First Grade Umpire.

Question: A player in match play is penalised if his caddie gives wrong information as to the number of strokes the player has taken and the error is not corrected before the opponent makes his next stroke.

  1. False

  2. True

Answer: 2

Explanation: The caddie and the player are one unit. If the opponent decides a certain strategy based on the number of strokes of his opponent, this wrong information was misguiding him, which is against the rules.

Penalty: Loss of hole

Question: In stroke play, when playing out of a bad lie, a player accidentally hits the ball a second time on her follow through. What is the ruling?

  1. The double hit counts as only one stroke and there is no penalty.

  2. The double hit counts as one shot and the player gets an additional one stroke penalty.

  3. The double hit counts as two shots but there is no additional penalty.

Answer: 1

Question: A player stands out of bounds to play a ball that lies in bounds, but has interference from an immovable obstruction that is outside the boundary of the course. The player takes relief from the immovable obstruction and plays the ball. The player has proceeded correctly.

  1. False

  2. True

Answer: 1

Explanation: There is no free relief from an immovable obstruction that lies out of bounds.

If you have any questions about rules please drop us a note to and our Rules Guy Jens Roestel will answer on our website.



President's Challenge

Latest results:

  • No matches.

Matches can be played anywhere at anytime as long as both players agree. Challengers are on the lower rung and should initiate the request to play. Check out the board to see who you are playing against.

If you need some help scheduling please ask anyone from the Committee and we'll be glad to assist.

WhatsApp Group

We have 2 WhatsApp groups for members; our Chatter group which is used for sharing jokes and non-D.O.G.S. related information and our Updates group where we share information specific to D.O.G.S. rounds. If you would like to be added to either or both of these groups please send us an email with your cell phone number to

148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page