top of page

D.O.G.S. First Round at Matoa Nasional Golf Course

Hail the D.O.G.S.!!!!!,

A big turnout for our first round of the Matoa Tournament with 37 golfers turning up. Play got underway at the appointed tee time with players going of both first and tenth tee boxes. After the last few weeks at Rainbow it was good to stay dry for a full round. The day alternated between scorching hot and overcast and late in the afternoon we began hearing faint thunderclaps but thankfully no rain appeared. Pace for the front nine was a bit on the slow side but picked up after the turn. We will be speaking with the course throughout this week to get their help improving pace. For our part the D.O.G.S should continue to set an example for fast play be playing ready golf which is encouraged in the 2019 rules changes.

The D.O.G.S. are happy to welcome Heru Otman and Diana Budiarti who played their first round with us. Rosie Tjaden, Arya Sena, Imran Harun, Kathy Scalabre, Bill & Ruth Lajousky all turned up after lengthy absences. We hope you enjoyed the day and will be back soon.

Gary Danskin did quite well on his first ever round at Matoa taking 3 prizes, Drive & Pitch, Lowest Gross (78) and Longest Drive. Of the three he was happiest with the Longest Drive as the single digit handicapper was able to just squeeze it past Sarah Brown! 😂. Risa Tirtayasa won the unofficial Biggest Hat prize. In the end Sarah Brown was able to have the last laugh beating Craig Edwards on Countback to become Weekly Champion; she had one comment for Gary.

Congratulations to all of our winners! As always full results are posted on our Leaderboard.

D.O.G.S. 2020 season is winding down, don't miss out on the chance to play before our break; grab a friend and come out and join us.

Where: Matoa Nasional Golf Course

When: Saturday, November 21, 2020

Tee Off: 11:32

Green Fee + Golf Cart: 650.000 IDR/person

As we need time to arrange groups and be prepared for the possibility of an early start we request players are at the course 1 hour early.

If you would like to join us for a round there are several ways to register:

If you are going to be late or decide not to play let us know so appropriate arrangements can be made.

See you at the course,




It's always handy to have a copy of the rules in case a situation comes up and you are unsure of what to do. Follow this link to download a copy of the USGA rules to your phone.

Last week we presented a short quiz to test your rules knowledge; to see how you did check the answers are below.

10. Your ball and a practice ball from the nearby practice area are both at rest on the putting green. You putt, and your ball accidentally hits the practice ball on the putting green. What is the ruling in stroke play?

  • a. There is no penalty and you must play your ball as it lies.

  • b. There is no penalty. Your stroke does not count and the original ball or another must be replaced on its original spot.

  • c. You get two penalty strokes and must play the ball as it lies.

  • d. You get two penalty strokes. Your stroke does not count and the original ball or another must be replaced on its original spot.

11. In which one of the following do you not get a penalty for lifting the branch while a ball is in motion?

  • a. You lift a branch to prevent the ball from hitting it, but the ball stops short of where the branch had been at rest.

  • b. You lift a branch to prevent the ball from hitting it and the ball rolls over the spot where the branch had been at rest.

  • c. In preparing to make your next stroke, you lift a branch so it’s not on your line of play. Another player’s ball rolls over the spot where the branch had been at rest.

12. True or False: You make a stroke from a deep greenside bunker to an elevated green. Although you can no longer see your ball, you assume it came to rest on the putting green. However, while retrieving a rake from just outside the bunker, your ball starts to roll back toward you. Another player alerts you to this and, to prevent the ball from rolling back into the bunker, you place the rake down on the ground in the path of the ball. The ball bounces over the rake without hitting it, and comes to rest back in the bunker. You get the general penalty for putting the rake down on the ground to try to deflect or stop your ball in motion.

  • a. True

  • b. False

13. In playing from above the hole on a steeply sloped putting green, you hit your putt a little too hard. The ball misses the hole, rolls down the slope and then off the green. The ball bounces off a turtle and comes to rest in the rough. You make the next stroke from where the ball came to rest after the deflection. The original stroke was made 30 feet from the hole, and the stroke after the deflection is made 20 feet from the hole. What is the ruling in stroke play?

  • a. You proceeded correctly and get no penalty.

  • b. You get two penalty strokes and must continue with the ball that was played 20 feet from the hole.

  • c. You get two penalty strokes and, because you should have replayed the stroke, you must make the next stroke from the spot of the original stroke (30 feet from the hole).

14. Your tee shot comes to rest in the pocket of a spectator standing in the general area. Which one of the following is false?

  • a. When taking relief, you may drop the original ball or another ball.

  • b. The reference point is the point right under where your ball first came to rest in the spectator’s pocket.

  • c. You must drop a ball as near as possible to the reference point, but not nearer the hole.

  • d. Your relief area is limited to the general area.

15. Which one of the following statements is true about Rule 11.3 (Deliberately Moving Objects or Altering Conditions to Affect Ball in Motion)?

  • a. You get a penalty under Rule 11.3 only when the movement of a ball is affected by your prohibited deliberate action.

  • b. You get a penalty under Rule 11.3 if you take a prohibited deliberate action to affect a ball in motion.

  • c. Rule 11.3 does not apply if your prohibited deliberate action is taken when a ball starts rolling on its own and not as the result of a stroke.

16. Which one of the following scenarios results in you or another player getting a general penalty under Rule 11?

  • a. While reading your line of play on the putting green, you place some clubs beyond the hole. Another player informs you that those clubs are in a position to stop your ball from going into an adjacent penalty area if hit too hard. Although you acknowledge that this could happen, you leave your clubs there anyway and make your next stroke. Your ball does end up rolling past the hole, bounces off one of your clubs, and comes to rest in the penalty area.

  • b. In determining how to play a downhill putt, you notice the preceding group left a bunker rake in a position just off the green and next to a bunker. Even though you can see this might stop your ball from going into that bunker, you decide to leave it in that position. You make the stroke and your ball is stopped by the rake, likely preventing it from ending up in the bunker.

  • c. You place your bag on the opposite side of the green in the rough, and just short of a penalty area. Before playing a chip shot from just off the putting green, you notice that your bag is in a position that could stop your ball from going into that penalty area if you hit it too hard. You make the stroke without moving your bag and, while your ball is in motion, your opponent moves your bag out of the way and your ball comes to rest in the penalty area.

17. You make a stroke and your ball in motion is stopped or deflected. It is estimated that your ball would have come to rest in the hole had it not been deflected. In which one of the following scenarios are you considered to have holed out?

  • a. Your stroke from the putting green is in motion and inches from the hole when your opponent, who was not aware you had played, walks across your line and accidentally deflects it.

  • b. You and your partner hit good approach shots to the putting green and both have a chance at birdie; yours is from 30 feet and your partner’s is from inside three feet. You make your stroke and while the ball is in motion and inches from the hole, your partner, who is confident of making birdie as well, jokingly stops your ball just before it begins to fall into the hole.

  • c. In stroke play, you make a stroke from the putting green at about the same time as another player in your group chips from the fringe. Your ball is on line with and just short of the hole when the other player’s ball strikes yours. The other player’s ball ends up in the hole and yours is deflected and comes to rest a few feet away.

  • d. In stroke play, your stroke from the rough just off the putting green is in motion on the putting green and headed directly toward the hole when it is deliberately deflected by another player.

18. In which one of the following do you not get a penalty under Rule 11?

  • a. After playing from a greenside bunker, you are raking the sand and see another player in your group chip from the other side of the putting green. Although that ball is coming toward you and the bunker, you don’t think it is traveling fast enough to get to the bunker, so you finish raking. To your surprise, the ball does end up in the bunker and comes to rest in the area that you had just raked.

  • b. You have a divot in your hand that you are going to replace when you see another player’s ball coming toward the divot hole, so you quickly replace the divot to make sure the player won’t get a bad lie.

  • c. Your chip shot up a steep slope stops just short of the top of the slope and starts rolling back toward you, and you remove the loose divot that you just made to prevent the ball from coming to rest against it.



Covid-19 Player Safety

Playing is the sole decision of each player. There is adequate information available publicly on Covid-19 to allow each person to form their own judgement on playing and what steps should be taken to protect oneself and playing partners.


The D.O.G.S. have always been proud to help charities. We have started a new effort were we take collections each week and at the end of each tournament we donate all proceeds to a charity that has a connection to the D.O.G.S. Please look for our charity collection barrel after each round.

For our Matoa tournament the beneficiary will be Indonesian Street Children Organisation more commonly known as ISCO. Founded by Josef Fuchs, who played D.O.G.S. regularly in the early days, ISCO has been in existence for over 20 years helping to provide education for street children in Indonesia. Some success stories:

  • ISCO is active in bringing education to over 2,500 disadvantaged children in Indonesia.

  • ISCO guarantees a job for every sponsored child, who reaches graduation at senior high school.

  • This year, we have already found more than 100 jobs for them, also thanks to you, who frequently attend this popular and very inclusive weekly social gathering.

  • 42 are presently studying in different universities.

  • In total, already more than 6,000 children went through our education programs.

  • See more about ISCO at

Jens Roestel arranges the ISCO Monthly Golf Charity Tournament which many of us play in. Jochen Overberg and Axel Hertzke hosted the last 2 German Open Cups which benefit ISCO as defending champions.


We continue to see participation grow with myGolf2u. We will really be pushing its use at Matoa so that we are able to go live in January. If you need some help just ask Rod Williams and he will be happy to help you out.

Before turning in your scorecard at the end of the round make sure your scores are entered.


As we enter our final tournament the D.O.G.S. are looking for sponsorship for the End of Year Party and for next year. If you or someone you know would like more information please send us a note to

113 views0 comments


bottom of page